A Beginners Guide to Chakras

Hello Lovelies! I hope you’re all doing so well; today I wanted to talk a little bit about Chakras; and break down what they are for anyone who is unsure about them!

So let’s just dive straight into the big question: What are chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that

literally translates to wheel or disk.

In yoga and meditation, chakras refer to the energy centres in your body that are located in your endocrine system along your spine. Your endocrine system is made up of glands that produce and secrete hormones, chemical substances that regulate the activity of cells or organs in your body. Each major gland in your endocrine system correlates to a specific chakra. There are seven main chakras, that start at the base of the spine (root chakra) and work all the way up to the top of your head (crown chakra).

Each chakra has a correlating colour that when focused on; helps target and amplify their energies. When choosing to focus your energies on any specific chakra, having tools or objects (such as crystals, flowers, candles etc.) in the colour of your chakra of choice can help you attain a deeper level of focus and healing.

Although each chakra is connected to your endocrine system, they not only influence your hormones but are also connected to a specific emotional and spiritual function in our lives; connecting your physical body, your mind and spirit as one.

It helps me to visualise chakras as if they are in fact a wheel or a gear system (similar to a bike). As each chakra moves, it connects to the next chakra and they all perform in a simultaneous motion.

When your chakras are aligned and balanced you will feel more free to live a life in flow state; manifesting your desires easier and quicker, and being more connected to Source/Spirit/ (or however you refer to it) and the vibration of love.

Multimedia Artwork

However, should your chakras be over or under active, you can find yourself feeling out of whack. For example: when your throat chakra is blocked or under active you may find yourself feeling overly shy, having a fear of speaking, feeling like your voice isn’t being heard or experiencing social anxiety. On the other hand, should your throat chakra be over active you may experience symptoms of chronic sore throat or even finding yourself gossiping, lying, feeling judgemental or being very critical of yourself and others.

By targeting each chakra daily and focusing your energies on aligning each one individually; you can maintain alignment in all of your energy centres and bring yourself back to your pure and natural state.

I personally find that when I combine the use of crystals, affirmation cards, essential oils, meditation and calming binaural beats it helps me stay in alignment and bring attention to blockages or emotional trauma that needs healing.

It is also important to note that healing takes time; and we do not always heal in a linear fashion. And some things that you may have thought were previously healed may come up again, and that is okay. Everyone is on their own journey in this life; and although it can be very valuable to have the support of friends, family or a community to help guide you; remember that you alone posses the power to heal yourself. By taking the time to go deeper within yourself and heal the areas you experience pain and trauma you are showing yourself love and kindness. As you continue to do so, you will feel more connected to yourself, drawing attention and love to both the darkness and the light inside you. You deserve all that is good, and by aligning your chakras you allow yourself to raise your vibration to a state of higher consciousness. And together, we can and will raise the vibration of the world by first raising our own vibration. Heal yourself to heal the world.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to leave a comment, or reach out to me via Instagram. This is and always will be a safe space for us to learn, communicate and grow.

Sending so much love + well wishes, always.

Thank you for letting me be a part of your journey;



ps. If you’re interested in balancing your Chakras, I am gifting you 14 FREE Chakra Affirmation cards so you can channel your highest self, and receive guidance on where best to focusing your energies. Simply enter in your email below to have them delivered straight to your inbox! Never heard about affirmation cards before, or not sure what all the fuss is about? Check out my post here to learn more and dive deeper into them!

Success! You're on the list.

11 thoughts on “A Beginners Guide to Chakras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s